Sons of War 3, Sinners by Nicholas Sansbury Smith


Sinners is the third book in the Sons of War series. Sinners picks up where book 2 left off, continuing the action-packed saga. Much of the United States is unlivable. California continues to see an influx of people. Determining the good guys from the bad guys is a growing gray area.

Emotional turmoil drives most characters to go above and beyond what they would have done if not pushed so relentlessly. Book one set the stage when America turned on itself. Nuclear fallout made much of America uninhabitable. Life is hard for everyone. Sanity is precious—the fight over who will be in control of California builds to a breaking point.

Sinners wrap up all the loose ends from the previous two books. Book Three, Sinners, is an unpredictable story. I don’t know if a fourth book is coming. The author ends Sinners with a brilliant ending. I will keep my eyes open for book 4. Fingers crossed!

Earth Unrelenting by M. R. Forbes. Narrated by Jonathan Davis


Earth Unrelenting is the second book in this series. Sheriff Duke is called upon to assist in finding a fugitive, Nathan Stacker, that fled Proxima and is now on earth. Proxima is a planet many from earth fled to a long time ago.

A lot is going on—the story transitions well from various locations and situations. Sheriff Duke is an Earther in the know. He is a very valuable person in many situations. Nathan Stacker is a worthy opponent, as are many others.

Earth Unrelenting is a face-paced action-packed story. I could not put it down. I love the Sheriff Duke character. The Sheriff is in another M. R. Forbes story. It’s great to be learning more about and enjoying this character again.

Jonathan Davis is a favorite narrator of mine. Davis does a fantastic job with this action-packed post-apocalyptic thriller. Davis gives each character an individual personality. I’m addicted to listening to this series along with the series itself. M. R. Forbes is extraordinarily detail-oriented. I’ve read and or listened to many of his books. I will not stop.

Phantoms by Dean Koontz


Can the small mountain town of Snowfield, California, disappear? It seems that way to the doctor of this small ski town when she returns home with her much younger sister. Everyone is gone. The few people found can’t share anything that happened to them.

Some bizarre things have and are happening to this town. Shadows. Flashing lights. Bodies. The source of this nightmare is well hidden. Dean Koontz has penned another nightmare onto paper.

The Trackers Series (Books 1-4) by Nicholas Sansbury Smith


The Tracker Series is a scary story. Korea sets off an EMP attack, destroying life as we now know it. Everyone is isolated. No help is on its way. The characters in this series are well defined and drive this series. The diversity of these characters keeps the plot exciting. A nurse, a. Sheriff, an Indian tracker, and his dog, to name a few. This is a fast-paced series I could not put down.

Blackwater The Complete Caskey Family Saga by Michael McDowell


I could not put Blackwater down. The Caskey family is a prominent family living in Perdido, Alabama, along the Perfido River. The saga starts in the latter half of the 1800s. Residents of this small town must evacuate to higher ground. The river which supports all the sawmills along it is flooding the town.

The Perdido River is an actual character in the Blackwater saga. It’s not a pretty river. It has a smell all its own. Some of this river is a black swamp hence the title Blackwater.

During this flood, Elinor, a stranger, is found on the upper floor of the only hotel in this small town. How could anyone have survived is the town folks speculation? Elinor brilliantly embeds herself into the Caskey family. Elinor is the only person that swims in the Perfido River, which adds to her oddness.

Blackwater is the story of a prominent family. The story of a town supported by the sawmill industry. The story of an ugly river. The story of changing times over the years. While all of this is going on, there is another story about a woman named Elinor. Blackwater is a horror story.

Blackwater was a wonderful surprise. I jumped into this book blindly. Dark Water was buried in my to-be-read pile (TBR). I started reading this saga, not remembering anything about it, only that I wanted to read it. A complex interwoven family story. Growing questions about Elinor. Who is she? You will be shocked.

Serenity Possessed A Alexander Shelby Thriller by Craig A. Hart & S. J. Varengo


Shelby Alexander is back. The former boxer/ fixer is always in demand. Shelby lives In a small town, Serenity. Shelby wants a quiet little town to get away from everything. Since the last book, some things have changed, but Shelby is the same guy he’s always been.

Every town has a story. Serenity is no different. A movie company is making a film in Serenity. The producer needs Shelby to protect his set. Weird things are happening. Shelby is not a superstitious guy. He has a bad feeling about the house which the film is about. Being a very reasonable man, Shelby can’t explain to his long-time friend and business partner, Mac, precisely what’s wrong or why it’s wrong.

This is a quick read. Serenity Possessed is my favorite Shelby Alexander book out of the eight in the series. I may say this after each one. The books do keep getting better. I hope there is a sequel to this exact one. Serenity Possessed is a cliffhanger. I’ll be impatiently waiting for the next Shelby Alexander and hope it picks up where this left off

Old Bones by Preston & Child (Cory Swanson # 1)


Special Agent Cory Swanson is fresh out of the FBI academy. Cory Swanson’s character comes from the Agent Pendergast series. Cory is on the bottom rung in her FBI office, which is the way all new agents begin.

Books Preston and Child write are among my favorites. Cory Swanson is a developing character. Cory is proving herself to the other characters and reader at the same time. Cory’s first field case is about old bones. Grave robberies and stolen artifacts surrounded by people going missing or possibly murdered.

I love this book as much as the Agent Pendergast

books. The second one, The Scorpions Tail, has been published. Cory Swanson owns this series. Pendergast may or may not make an appearance in a small role. Cory Swanson now has her series that is independent of any oth